Events & Runs

Important Runs Information

For all rides, please be at the departure point no later than 15 m before the nominated start time with a FULL GAS TANK and an EMPTY BLADDER. If you are not sure if the run may be cancelled because of inclement weather phone the RIC before leaving home.

Ride format

SHORT: 150 km, MEDIUM: 150 - 300 km, LONG: 300 - 500 km, XTRA/LONG: Over 500 km.

CRUISE: These runs, usually monthly on a Saturday are offered at a more leisurely pace and of short distance.

ANYONE: A ride for any Club member, noting that you are to assess your own capability in relation to the RIC of the day, the destination and likely distance.

EXPERIENCED: Intended for experienced riders only as less than sufficiently experienced riders may find these rides too challenging.

Each RIC will carry a Mobile Phone for emergencies. You will be required to provide your own details and an ICE contact details on arrival and before the ride briefing.

Ride Guidelines (revised version 17th May 2021)

•        The RIC (Rider in Charge) oversees the ride.  The RIC will always do a "Riders’ brief" explaining the route, use of corner markers, destination and appoint a TEC (Tail End Charlie).  Pay attention.  You are responsible for your ride.  Know the terms of the ride and the protocols.

•        Less experienced riders ride towards the rear -   the TEC will bring up the rear.  Corner markers and regroup stops will prevent people getting lost.  You may ask to, or choose of your own will, to ride behind the TEC, perhaps with a buddy rider.

•        Overtaking is allowed - where it is safe and legal to do so.  Overtaking should be done individually, do not blindly follow the rider ahead. If you pass the RIC you are deemed to have "left the ride".

•        Ride in staggered formation where possible - except through corners. Be considerate and give each other space.

•        If the group needs or has to stop, irrespective of where the RIC stops, ensure you locate yourself in a safe stopping place.  Ensure you do not lengthen the stopped tail where the sight line is inadequate for a safe stopping distance for those coming behind.  All compulsory stops are to be complied with (meaning “we stop at Stop signs”).

•        If you plan to leave the ride, please advise the RIC or TEC - we do not want to go looking for you.  Be considerate.

•        Ride your own ride - do not feel pressured into riding outside your comfort zone. In all situations, you are responsible for yourself.  Please ensure you are sufficiently self informed, capable and competent, to enjoy the ride.  You alone have this responsibility.  Be always aware whilst on the ride of what is around you.

•        Enjoy yourself and have fun - that is what it is all about.

RIC Contact List

Please read the Guide to Staggered Formation before going on any of our organised rides.

Need a Printable copy of the latest RUNS LIST? CLICK HERE to download.

  • Thursday 17 June

  • Venue-: Downstairs Bar, Ed Street Bar, 27 Edinburgh Street, Pukekohe.
    Date: Thu 17 Jun 2021
  • Saturday 19 June

  • Karaka General Store & Cafe, 257 Linwood Road, Karaka. Meet at 10:00am for a coffee and chat, choose your own departure time.
    Date: Sat 19 Jun 2021
  • Here we go guys & gals with our next club social outing for you. We’re going across the water to the historic airbase on the Waitematā Harbour. Let’s meet at the Downtown Ferry Terminal and head off from there. Make your own way to the Downtown Ferry Terminal and buy your tickets. BONUS - if you’re a Gold AT Hop card holder your travel is free. We’re boarding the 4.30pm ferry to Hobsonville Point. Once there we’ll disembark and walk over to the “Little Creatures Brewery” for a meal and drinks. When you’re ready, catch a ferry back to Downtown. These depart at various times - 7pm, 7.30pm, 9pm, 9.30pm, 11pm, 11.30pm. Send me an email or text/call me if you want more info: Sheryl - 64ehprem@gmail.com 021 675328
    Date: Sat 19 Jun 2021
  • Sunday 20 June

  • Sig is RIC - Phone 027 497 2594. Departs Bombay Z 10-00am
    Date: Sun 20 Jun 2021
  • Tuesday 22 June

  • Pick Destination on the day. Charlie 09-638-8949 or 022-345-9309. Departs Papakura Service Centre 10-30am
    Date: Tue 22 Jun 2021
  • Thursday 24 June

  • Venue: RSA Papakura, Elliott Street, Papakura
    Date: Thu 24 Jun 2021
  • Sunday 27 June

  • Brian is RIC - Phone 09 849 3263 or 021 806 833. Departs Warehouse Cvrd Car park, Albany 10-30am
    Date: Sun 27 Jun 2021
  • Tuesday 29 June

  • Pick Destination on the day. Charlie 09-638-8949 or 022-345-9309. Departs Papakura Service Centre 10-30am
    Date: Tue 29 Jun 2021
  • Friday 2 July

  • Info Page 41 March 2021 Ulyssian. Cancelled due to lack of registrations.
    Date: Fri 02 Jul 2021 - Sun 4 Jul 2021
  • Saturday 3 July

  • This is suited for,all members who want a gentle cruise. Lou is RIC - Phone 09 267 7372 or 021 269 6601. Manukau Cruising Club, Onehunga 10.30 am.
    Date: Sat 03 Jul 2021
  • Riding training with John Heebink. E-mail: john.heebink@gmail.com, Home: 09 8109160, Mobile:021 1285806. The address is: Corner of Browns Road and Dalgety Drive, Homai. It is a big carpark next to the Homai Railway Station. Starts at 2 pm.
    Date: Sat 03 Jul 2021
  • Sunday 4 July

  • Ole is RIC - Phone 09 299 3705 or 021 214 3323. Departs Bombay Z 10-00am
    Date: Sun 04 Jul 2021
  • Monday 5 July

  • Branch meeting, Manukau Cruising Club. Meeting starts at 7:30 pm.
    Date: Mon 05 Jul 2021
  • Tuesday 6 July

  • Pick Destination on the day. Charlie 09-638-8949 or 022-345-9309. Departs Papakura Service Centre 10-30am
    Date: Tue 06 Jul 2021
  • Thursday 8 July

  • Venue: New Lynn RSA. 2 Veronica St, New Lynn.
    Date: Thu 08 Jul 2021
  • Saturday 10 July

  • Ole is RIC - Phone 09 299 3705 or 021 214 3323. Departs Papakura Service Centre 10-00am
    Date: Sat 10 Jul 2021
  • Sunday 11 July

  • Chris is RIC - Phone 09 298 1702 or 021 034 7996. Departs Bombay Z 10-00am
    Date: Sun 11 Jul 2021
  • Tuesday 13 July

  • Tuesday Longer Ride Day. This ride leaves the same location as all Tuesday rides, except 30 minutes earlier at 10.00 a.m. The planned destination is the Coromandel loop. Tuesday longer rides are scheduled for the second Tuesday of each month, subject to weather and numbers allowing. We aim to be back at Papakura around 3.00 p.m. Tony Kay is the coordinator. 020 414 85160. Departs Papakura Service Centre 10-00am. There will also be a normal Tuesday ride leaving Papakura Service Centre at 10:30 for those who don't want the longer ride. Pick Destination on the day. Charlie 09-638-8949 or 022-345-9309. Departs Papakura Service Centre 10-30am
    Date: Tue 13 Jul 2021
  • Saturday 17 July

  • Down by the river on the Whitford Roundabout to "THE LIME TREE CAFÉ" Meet at 10:00am for a coffee and chat.
    Date: Sat 17 Jul 2021
  • Sunday 18 July

  • Sig is RIC - Phone or 027 497 2594. Departs Bombay Z 10-00am
    Date: Sun 18 Jul 2021
  • Tuesday 20 July

  • Pick Destination on the day. Charlie 09-638-8949 or 022-345-9309. Departs Papakura Service Centre 10-30am
    Date: Tue 20 Jul 2021
  • Thursday 22 July

  • Venue-: Downstairs Bar, Ed Street Bar, 27 Edinburgh Street, Pukekohe.
    Date: Thu 22 Jul 2021
  • Sunday 25 July

  • Brian is RIC - Phone 09 849 3263 or 021 806 833. Departs Warehouse Cvrd Car park, Albany 10-30am
    Date: Sun 25 Jul 2021
  • Tuesday 27 July

  • Pick Destination on the day. Charlie 09-638-8949 or 022-345-9309. Departs Papakura Service Centre 10-30am
    Date: Tue 27 Jul 2021
  • Thursday 29 July

  • Venue: RSA Papakura, Elliott Street, Papakura
    Date: Thu 29 Jul 2021
  • Sunday 1 August

  • Tony is RIC - Phone 020-414-85160. Departs Bombay Z 10-00am
    Date: Sun 01 Aug 2021
  • Monday 2 August

  • Branch meeting, Manukau Cruising Club. Meeting starts at 7:30 pm.
    Date: Mon 02 Aug 2021
  • Tuesday 3 August

  • Pick Destination on the day. Charlie 09-638-8949 or 022-345-9309. Departs Papakura Service Centre 10-30am
    Date: Tue 03 Aug 2021
  • Saturday 7 August

  • Riding training with John Heebink. E-mail: john.heebink@gmail.com, Home: 09 8109160, Mobile:021 1285806. The address is: Corner of Browns Road and Dalgety Drive, Homai. It is a big carpark next to the Homai Railway Station. Starts at 2 pm.
    Date: Sat 07 Aug 2021
  • Sunday 8 August

  • Chris is RIC - Phone 09 298 1702 or 021 034 7996. Departs Bombay Z 10-00am
    Date: Sun 08 Aug 2021
  • Tuesday 10 August

  • Tuesday Longer Ride Day. This ride leaves the same location as all Tuesday rides, except 30 minutes earlier at 10.00 a.m. The planned destination will be advised later, but a gravel-oriented run is being discussed. Tuesday longer rides are scheduled for the second Tuesday of each month, subject to weather and numbers allowing. We aim to be back at Papakura around 3.00 p.m. Tony Kay is the coordinator. 020 414 85160. Departs Papakura Service Centre 10-00am. There will also be a normal Tuesday ride leaving Papakura Service Centre at 10:30 for those who don't want the longer ride. Pick Destination on the day. Charlie 09-638-8949 or 022-345-9309. Departs Papakura Service Centre 10-30am
    Date: Tue 10 Aug 2021
  • Thursday 12 August

  • Venue: New Lynn RSA. 2 Veronica St, New Lynn.
    Date: Thu 12 Aug 2021
  • Friday 13 August

  • Early start 09-00am. Chris is RIC - Phone 09 298 1702 or 021 034 7996. Departs Bombay Z 09-00am
    Date: Fri 13 Aug 2021
  • Saturday 14 August

  • Keep this in mind. This is a "Must Do" event for club members. Please try to keep this weekend free. Arrange own accommodation. Awesome party to balance the solemnity of the remembrance speeches. Rotorua for a lunch break. We will then regroup at Whakarewarewa for the parade to Taupo. Depart 12-00. MAKE YOUR OWN WAY THERE.
    Date: Sat 14 Aug 2021